Asia’s Biggest Green Film festival CMS Vatavaran ends at New Delhi Today


By K Ashwin Mobile: 09920183006 Email:

The four-day long 10th CMS Vatavaran Environment & Wildlife Film festival and Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEF&CC) Short Film Competition and Festival on Environment has ended today with gala award ceremony recognizing filmmakers in conservation.

Shri Rajinder Singh, Waterman of India, Ms. Marylaure Crettaz, Head Swiss Cooperation Office, Embassy of Switzerland in India, Ms. Manju Pandey, Join Secretary MOEFCC and Shri Ravi Agrawal, Additional Secretary MOEFCC are the Guest of Honour of the final ceremony.

This year The Prithvi Bhushan Award was given to Shri Rajinder Singh, Waterman of India, for his contributions in the field of Environment Conservation. Prithvi Bhushan award is bestowed to recognize the efforts of leadership in environment conservation and transformational achievements, on ground. It endeavours to recognize efforts and achievements that have benefitted the environment and promoted human welfare.

Dr PN Vasanti, Director General of CMS said “This is an important international platform for media and filmmakers interested in environment and wildlife. We are happy that the festival received such tremendous response”


The MOEFCC 2019 Short film competition and festival on pollution was held along with this Festival, where shortlisted films were screened.

MoEF&CC Short film competition was launched by Shri Prakash Javadekar Hon’ble Minister, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change on June 5, 2019 World Environment Day. There are three segments of Films by School Students, Films by College Students, and Amateur film makers and films by Professional Filmmakers and Film Studios.

In a category of School Students first prize was awarded to ”Clean And Green” by Toon Club & Ecole Mondiale World School and second prize was awarded to “Pleaseeee…” by CHINH MEDIA CLUB STUDENTS.

In a category of Amateur and College Students second prize was awarded to “One Life” by Nishant Kumar Nishu and “Sketch Book” by Rishi Nikam.

and In a category of Professionals first prize was awarded to “Now, Your Home? by Prasad Pandurang Mahekar and second prize was awarded to “The Silent Voice” by Anshul Sinha.


In 10th CMS VATAVARAN Environment and Wildlife film festival an eminent jury of 12 personalities headed by Shri Suresh Prabhu selected the final 22 films, 13 films in national category and 8 international films including 1 best film of festival.


The 10th Competitive edition of CMS VATAVARAN received 1020 films from more than 60 countries. Peer review shortlisted 284 films were judged by a Nomination Jury of 25 eminent environment and media professionals.

The winner of the category of Celebrating Himalayas is “Koti Banal” and in category of Environment Conservation is “India’s Healing Forest”. The Best film of Festival was awarded to “The Secret Life of Frogs”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *